17th SAG Awards

In Fashion on February 2, 2011 at 11:56 pm

I have to admit I haven’t actually watched this year’s SAG awards, or the other 16 SAG awards for that matter. But what I do observe is fashion. And the beautiful people that walk on the red carpet. Not a lot fashion victims this year although a hell of a lot of glowing pregnant mommies. Just an observation.

My favourites include:

January Jones in Carolina Herrera. I love anything and everything lace.

Lea Michele in Oscar De La Renta. I’m not a big fan of her on Glee, however, off-television Lea I love. She is actually rather beautiful. But the minute she opens her mouth to sing, Eeek. A bit scary. I suppose it shows how good of an actress she is.

Julia Stiles in Monique Lhuillier. What in the world happened to Julia? She’s been missing off and on screen, but she sure knows how to make her presence known at the awards! I j’adore the way the colour fades.

Hilary Swank in Versace. I love nude and pastels. I love the illusion it lends to its wearer – the illusion of length, the illusion (or not) of innocence. Plus it’s so flattering against most skin tones. I always squint my eyes to try to see if the colour would blend in with the wearer’s skin. I just find it fascinating. Go figure! Speaking of figure, absolutely love the way the dress hugs itself against Hilary’s toned body.

These, however, are not:

I am a big fan of Dianna Agron. I am also a big fan of Chanel. But this time around the combination got lost somewhere. I am definitely not a fan of the length of the skirt. I think ‘just above the ankle’ lengths are difficult to pull off. Even more difficult for evening wear. No matter how gorgeous I think Dianna is, she did not impress me with this ensemble. And vintage Chanel with heavy smoky eyes? Uhhh. Nope.

I will be honest with you – I have no idea who this woman is. But her name is Archie Panjabi and she is wearing David Meister. My first reaction was: Is she hiding a lamp shade underneath her skirt?

I have to give my hats off to our beloved Jane Lynch a.k.a. Sue Sylvester. What in the world?!!! It’s like a scene from Enchanted! Stick to sweatpants suits, Jane. Having said that, I don’t think the problem is the shape of the dress – it’s the colour! It’s a black tie event, not a birthday party.

Leave a Reply

