Raise Your Hats!

In Up close and personal on February 6, 2011 at 1:35 am

I have a confession. I secretly love hats. Caps, beanies, fedoras, straw hats, panamas the list goes on. But I don’t wear them because I have (another confession), a very small head. Please do not assume that I have a small brain as well. And since the UK is notorious for its wind, I believe the longest time I’ve had a fedora on my head (hands free) is 5 minutes, half the time I have one hand on my head desperately trying to keep it from being road kill. Sure, I’ve contemplated investing in one and just wear it in KL, where the chances of wind is near to zero! That being said, I’m not sure if KL is ready for hats, beanies and caps being the only exceptions. I suppose I associate hats with a function i.e. to keep your face cool from the sun so that you don’t have your makeup running down your face. On that basis, how many of us Malaysians actually spend more than 5 minutes in the sun? Am I wrong? Have society’s perception towards hats and basking in the sun changed? If so, would it be weird for me to be walking in a mall with a fedora or a baker without uninvited stares?

The sister looks good in hats. Darn her.

 

  1. I think typical Malaysians have not stopped from thinking wearing hats in malls look rather pretentious. Doesn’t matter if they look nice or not. Still, your sister looks great in hats, especially on the latter picture. šŸ™‚

    • I agree and admit that I would probably think the same. I suppose it all depends on the time and place. I won’t rule out the idea completely. And thanks Aishah, however, the bangs belong to the sister, not moi – but I’ll be sure to tell her that.

  2. haha… say hi to her then.. Anyway, love this post and yes, I’m a Malaysian who barely spend more than 5 min in the sun… =)

Leave a Reply

