This Is Me

In Up close and personal on January 31, 2012 at 4:04 pm

I have to admit, when the husband first mentioned that we were to be dressed in matching songket I got a bit scared. Never mind the fact that it can be extremely errm.. colourful to say the least, but I also knew the limitations of a songket fabric. It’s stiff and often itchy and uncomfortable. Not my idea of a wedding gown. So I turned to Syomir.

Syomir and I were on the same page in that we definitely wanted to keep it simple but we didn’t want to opt for a traditional kebaya style. So current, basically. And I’m happy that it all came about organically. From choosing the tone and pattern of the songket, the contour of the dress, right down to the detailed sequins and beadings strategically placed on one side of the shoulder. Hopefully we will see more of this modern take of the songket. I think it’s quite refreshing and unique… what do you think? 

  1. You realllly look great in everything! 🙂

  2. i like how u let ur hair loose. looks very relaxed.

  3. Syomir’s work is inevitably amazing! You look really pretty =)

  4. U sewa tak this songket dear?am looking for songket for my majlis bertandang.

    • Hi Fara,

      Sorry but unfortunately no, I’m not renting out any of my dresses. I hope you find your songket elsewhere! Best of luck!

  5. Hai babe. If u dont mind, i would like to copy and post ur photo in my blog. Well, am sooo in love with this songket !

  6. […] of fabric already so exclusive, why ruin it with sequins. Which I have to agree… Like the famous Syomir Izwa piece, there wasn’t much embellishments and it still looked drop dead gorgeous. He doesn’t […]

Leave a Reply

